The 5 Pentatonic Scale Patterns

There are only 5 Pentatonic Scale Patterns on the guitar. These scale patterns are most commonly used to play the Major Pentatonic Scale and the Minor Pentatonic Scale.

That’s right! Both Major and Minor Pentatonic scales share the exact same Scale Patterns. So once you’ve learnt the 5 Scale Patterns below, you’ve technically learnt all 5 Major Pentatonic Scales and all 5 Minor Pentatonic Scales (although you will use them differently).

When learning and practising each Scale Pattern, simply start on the lowest note, play up to the highest note, and back again to the lowest note.

I’ve numbered each pentatonic scale pattern 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, but until they’re actually applied to either a major or minor pentatonic, they don’t really have names. They are just scale patterns.

If you’re unsure how to read the scale patterns below, click here.

Pentatonic Scale Pattern 1

Pentatonic Scale Pattern 2

Pentatonic Scale Pattern 3

Pentatonic Scale Pattern 4

Pentatonic Scale Pattern 5